St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Support for all FSDG products
Post Reply
User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:01 pm

I am using ORBX FTX products - Global Base, Vector, SA, NA, etc., and TVSA St. Vincent seems to have an elevation problem with FTX. I used their Vector Airport Altitude Config tool and it did not fix anything. I also use FSDG St. Lucia and that has no problem.

Not sure what next to do, as the scenery worked before installing the FTX products.

I hope someone has some recommendations or a fix solution.

Regards,
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by horst18519 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:36 pm

You might need to contact the ORBX support on this if the issue occured after installing an ftx addon.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:47 pm

horst18519 wrote:You might need to contact the ORBX support on this if the issue occured after installing an ftx addon.
They told me to contact the developer of the scenery for help, as their vector software will not interfere with an airport unless it recognizes their is an elevation issue with it and then apply their correction. I believe the problem is it's a new airport and it's not listed in their software so it cannot the correction.

I'm now between a rock and a hard place.

Regards,
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by horst18519 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:59 pm

That is more or less correct. We have quite a lot of ftx users who can use the scenery without any problem though, so both addons are compatible. There seems to be a problem in your case though. Did you re-install FSDG-St Vincent after installing ftx?
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:50 pm

horst18519 wrote:That is more or less correct. We have quite a lot of ftx users who can use the scenery without any problem though, so both addons are compatible. There seems to be a problem in your case though. Did you re-install FSDG-St Vincent after installing ftx?
I sure did, but no fix.
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by horst18519 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:56 pm

Can you please post a screenshot with your aircraft positioned on the runway? Please also report (or screenshoot) the exact altitude (MSL) on the runway as well as at sea level (just slew to the nearby ocean).
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:23 pm

horst18519 wrote:Can you please post a screenshot with your aircraft positioned on the runway? Please also report (or screenshoot) the exact altitude (MSL) on the runway as well as at sea level (just slew to the nearby ocean).
As requested Thorsten. The aircraft is a Boeing B738, the exact altitude on the altimeter was 140 ft. ASL; at Sea level the altitude was 10 ft. I guess the cockpit height above the ground.
Thanks,
Attachments
TVSA ASL.png
At Sea Level - Altitude= 10 ft.
TVSA Runway 04.png
ON Runway 04 - Altitude= 140 ft.
TVSA Gate 2.png
At Gate 2 - No Terminal Building, below ground.
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:32 am

Thought I would have heard from you concerning the elevation problem. I sent you the screen shots you requested.

Thanks,
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by horst18519 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:37 pm

Sorry for the delay, it's the holiday season.

The airport altitude should be 144ft in the 737. Judging from your last screenshot there is an even bigger difference around the apron though. There must be some interfering file that causes this. Can you please disable all other add-ons in the scenery library and/or the addons menu? Does that fix the problem?
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

User avatar
portanav
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:27 pm
FS-Version: FS11
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by portanav » Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:41 pm

horst18519 wrote:Sorry for the delay, it's the holiday season.

The airport altitude should be 144ft in the 737. Judging from your last screenshot there is an even bigger difference around the apron though. There must be some interfering file that causes this. Can you please disable all other add-ons in the scenery library and/or the addons menu? Does that fix the problem?
Hi Torsten, unfortunately I had previously uninstalled the TVSA scenery. However, having re-installed TVSA has fixed the problem; but I think the fix occurred not because of what I did, but because the scenery priority was relocated in the re-install to the lowest in the scenery config; just above P3D's default sceneries.

In the end you most probably are correct in assuming the problem was caused by an addon. The good news is I can once again enjoy your wonderful scenery :cool:

Regards.
P.S. Please consider creating scenery for Trinidad & Tobago airports - Piarco Intl. (TTPP) and Crown Point Intl. (TTCP). This request was made on your facebook forum. ;-)
Michael

Image
P3Dv4, AivlaSoft EFB, PFPX, TOPCAT, ProATC/x, ASN, RAAS Pro, UT2 and Prosim Utils, ORBX FTX
Image

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: St. Vincent and ORBX FTX (in)compatibility

Post by horst18519 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:46 pm

Thanks. I'm glad it works now.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Post Reply