Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Support for all FSDG products
Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:29 pm

Hello
In the mail I found a link from simmarket about the new seychelles version. I uninstalled the older version 2.0 via uninstaller. I installing version 2.1 and then I have a problem with the runway elevation of the following airports. FSFA, FSPL, FSSC, FSSD.
At these airports the airplane is on a semi-transparent runway 10 feet above the real runway. At FSSF the plane is 200 feet above the surface. You can see the pics
Where could be the problem? Thanks for answer
Attachments
FSSF2.jpg
FSSD.jpg
FSSC2.jpg
FSPL.jpg
FSFA.jpg

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:45 pm

You probably have another add-on that includes AFD / ALT files for those airports. Do you use a mesh add-on like FS Global or an ftx add-on or something like that?
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:28 pm

Yes, in my fsx I have FTX global. But it did not have issues with version 2.0. Typically, it helps the ftx vector airport elevation correction but version 2.1 does not react with it.

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:40 pm

We flattened a few airports because we had other users with problems using additional addons like ftx. Did you make sure to completely uninstall the previous version? (remove ALT files as well)
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:21 am

Hello Thorsten

As I said i uninstalled via uninstall seychelles so I thought everything was ok. But FSX has told me that he is missing some seychelles scenery. In the FSX addon scenery I found that fsdg seychelles is still in the list even though it was not physically in the FSDG directory. So I deleted it from addon scenery via delete scenery. FSX has not started any error messages, so I installed the version 2.1 with which I have the problem.
So how to proceed and where to find the elevation data because in folder FSX-scenery I have nothing to do with seychelles found.

I also wrote on Simmarket for version 2.0 install, because I unfortunately deleted it in my PC. They said they no longer have it just 2.1, that I should contact you with this request.
I was thinking about reinstalling back to 2.0 or it would not solve my problem... what do you mean

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:13 pm

I don't think you have to go back to v2.0, even though there are no big changes in the FSX scenery between v2.0 and v2.1.
Please go to your FSX/scenery/world/scenery folder and look for files named AFX_FS**.bgl.
If there aren't any please copy the attached files into that folder.

We'll check the current installer to make sure those aren't missing on installation.
Attachments
Sey_ALT_files.zip
(2.45 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:48 am

Hello Thorsten!!!

Problem solved ... thank you very much!!!!

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:49 pm

Hello again...

One more little thing :hihi: ... when I flew in the evening I noticed that the streetlights have rays turned upside down... Can you also solve this detail?
Attachments
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:34 pm

You're right, there's something wrong with those effects. We had that P3Dv4 bug fixed (for some reason they changed the code so a lot of FSX effects were rotated or flipped) but they either changed the code again for v4.1 or the fixed files didn't end up in the new installer.
Either way please use the new sticky to get the correct files:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2538
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:39 pm

Hello Thorsten.

I copied the specified fx to effects folder but nothing changed with me - the lamps still shine up

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:40 pm

Those fx files have to be copied to the FSDG-Seychelles/effects folder (overwrite existing files) not the P3D/effects folder.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Daniel Dian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:13 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by Daniel Dian » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:25 am

Hello Thorsten

I have FSX not P3D. In it is FSX / FSDG / FSDG-Seychelles / ... and there are... scenery, textures, warrants, FSDG-Seychelles map JPG. Nothing else. Folder effects are missing.

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:18 pm

Thanks, I missed that. Looks like when we fixed the P3Dv4 effects the new textures ended up in the FSX version. Please copy the attached bmp files into your FSX/effects/texture folder to fix the problem.
Attachments
FSDG_SEY_Lamp_fx_textures_FSX.zip
(29.21 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

JoseCFII
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:02 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by JoseCFII » Fri Jun 07, 2019 6:52 pm

I'm bumping this because there's an elevation issue with v2.1 at FSPP.

Is there an alt fix file for FSPP?

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:10 pm

There should be no problem at FSPP.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

JoseCFII
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:02 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by JoseCFII » Fri Jun 07, 2019 8:42 pm

There's a major issue with FSPP. I raised the elevation from 10' to 14 and the plane was no longer sinking, but near rnw 15 there's still all kinds of bleed through. It's too bad because it's scenery one can fall in love with. This is on P3D v4.5

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:00 pm

You should not edit our files. There is no problem with the scenery nor with the ALT files. If you have any elevation problems they're most likely related to files from another add-on like ftx, AI traffic,...
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

JoseCFII
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:02 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by JoseCFII » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:50 pm

horst18519 wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:00 pm
You should not edit our files. There is no problem with the scenery nor with the ALT files. If you have any elevation problems they're most likely related to files from another add-on like ftx, AI traffic,...
Creating an AlT file does not require me to edit your files. I checked for duplicate AFCADS, and did not find anything. This addon is not fully compatible with P3D v4. If I were you, I would not sell this addon as fully compatible with P3D v4. It seems to me, based on the threads already created describing this issue, that you do not like giving your customers support. I'm not complaining because when I bought the addon it was for FSX and not for P3D v4. I'm grateful that at least you tried and did not charge an upgrade price. Good try!

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1317
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by horst18519 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:07 am

I can assure you it's 100% compatible. We have lots of P3Dv4 pilots who use it without any issues - just as we do ourselves.
If the aircraft sinks into the ground or the ground below the groundpoly blends through it's usually because of:
- another addon interfering with the scenery
- wrong graphics settings (mesh resolution likely)
- an unsuccessful installation
- manual editing

I can't tell which it is in your case, but even though a quick search probably did not return any other "AFCAD" (AFD file) doesn't mean there isn't another scenery causing this issue. I need to know which other addons you use that might have an effect on the scenery.

What's the exact altitude of the ground at FSPP for you? It should be 10.00ft MSL, the same altitude as the default FSPP airport. That's why there is no ALT file from us since we didn't have to alter the elevation. If your airport elevation is different from 10ft (3.05m) there's a 3rd party file interfering.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

JoseCFII
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:02 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Seychelles 2,1 runway elevation problem

Post by JoseCFII » Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:58 am

horst18519 wrote:
Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:07 am
I can assure you it's 100% compatible. We have lots of P3Dv4 pilots who use it without any issues - just as we do ourselves.
If the aircraft sinks into the ground or the ground below the groundpoly blends through it's usually because of:
- another addon interfering with the scenery
- wrong graphics settings (mesh resolution likely)
- an unsuccessful installation
- manual editing

I can't tell which it is in your case, but even though a quick search probably did not return any other "AFCAD" (AFD file) doesn't mean there isn't another scenery causing this issue. I need to know which other addons you use that might have an effect on the scenery.

What's the exact altitude of the ground at FSPP for you? It should be 10.00ft MSL, the same altitude as the default FSPP airport. That's why there is no ALT file from us since we didn't have to alter the elevation. If your airport elevation is different from 10ft (3.05m) there's a 3rd party file interfering.
Thank you for addressing my issue. I really appreciate it and I would not be here if I did not LOVE this scenery.

I'm using FTX (ORBX) Global. I do NOT use ORBX Vector for the reason that it causes problems with addon airport elevations. I also do not have AI traffic that uses its own AFCADS to generate traffic. Once again it causes problems with addon airports. If it sounds like I know what I'm talking about it's because I've been fooling around with flights sims for over a decade.

Your AFCAD is untouched and elevation remains 10'

What mesh setting are you or your beta team using for Seychelles?

Post Reply