Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Support for all FSDG products
Post Reply
LecLightning57
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:05 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by LecLightning57 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:10 pm

Please will anyone kindly inform me if a tutorial is available for Paro VQPR approaches in Prepar3D v3/4 from the installed software. I have tried installing in FSX and it does appear under Missions, but nothing appears under Scenarios/Tutorials in Prepar3D v3 and Prepar3D v4 if I install Paro in either of these Lockheed Martin simulators.

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by horst18519 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:00 pm

Sorry for the late reply.
When P3Dv3 was released we updated the mission to work with the Constellation in P3Dv3, but we did not include it in P3Dv4 for several reasons. The work involved with making sure it works was too much given that there is no fitting default aircraft included in P3Dv4. I heard you managed to make it work in P3Dv4 using the Aerosoft A319 though. Good job. ;-)
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

LecLightning57
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:05 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by LecLightning57 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:56 am

Thorsten,

I have installed FSDG Paro into Prepar3D v3, but no mission (or rather Scenario Tutorial) appears to have been installed in Prepar3D v3 itself. Please advise if my installation should have installed the Paro Tutorials in Prepar3D v3, and if so, how I can obtain the appropriate files (you do mention the use of an FXML file for Prepar3D in relation to the Lockheed Constellation, which I am certainly missing).

For your information, I purchased FSDG Paro from the Aerosoft Shop, not directly from yourselves.

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by horst18519 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:32 pm

The mission is not included for P3Dv3. The files are identical to the FSX installation in that regard. If the mission doesn't show in the menu it's probably because of a missing simobject.
If you own the Aerosoft A319 you can use that to fly the mission. Be sure to check if the simobject is identical with the one called in the mission FLT file:

Code: Select all

[Sim.0]
Sim=Airbus A319 Drukair A5-RGG
EDIT: Mission not included in P3D versions.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

LecLightning57
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:05 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by LecLightning57 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:35 pm

Forgive my asking, but how is the mission updated in Prepar3D v3 if it is the same mission as per FSX? The User Manual for Paro does state modifying an FXML file (not a FLT file) which is certainly not installed in Prepar3D v3. In fact the installer does not install a mission (or rather a Scenario-based Tutorial) into Prepar3D v3.

Please explain the reference in the User Manual for Paro with respect to the modification of an FXML file.

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by horst18519 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:43 pm

That paragraph in the manual is from an earlier version. When we packed the new installers we included identical files for FSX and P3Dv3. You'll have to edit the FLT file.
The mission should've been installed in your P3D/missions/FSDG Missions folder.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

LecLightning57
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:05 pm
FS-Version: FSX

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by LecLightning57 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:52 am

Thank you for explaining the confusion raised by statements in the User Manual for Paro and how to proceed with things in Prepar3D v3.

Since my installer for Paro (purchased from Aerosoft, Version 1.2) does not install the missions, I ask of you if you would very kindly supply me with an installer that does actually install the missions into Prepar3D v3.

Paul

User avatar
horst18519
Posts: 1166
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm

Re: Tutorial for Paro VQPR in Prepar3D v3/4?

Post by horst18519 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:56 pm

EDIT: I only just realized we completely removed the mission from the final release candidate. It's not an official feature of the addon (not listed on the product pages). We should remove it from the manual though.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com

Post Reply