It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:23 pm




 Page 3 of 3 [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:51 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:22 pm
Posts: 9
No, only P3D v4 is installed. Are there any kinda secret locations where FSX leftovers might be and cause glitches? Used to have it, but removed before P3D.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 5:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
Even if so as soon as you install the P3D scenery it should be ok. Maybe install again? That often helps. Looks like the FSDG folder is missing currently (layer #3 in your scenery library (all the way down).



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:47 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:22 pm
Posts: 9
You were right, there was no FSDG entry in the Scenery Library.

Tried a new installation to no avail. The FSDG file is not in the Library again. I had a look in the scenery_add-ons.xml and it's not there (as expected). The problem is that I cannot add it manually because I don't know what that <SceneryCRC> number is; at least I could check if that made a difference.

I have added the FSDG file in the Library manually but didn't work too.

It's a pity cause I never had a problem in FSX and your sceneries are too good to be off my flying map.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 9:35 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
I'm not aware of a file called scenery_add-ons.xml. Do you use some scenery manager?



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:42 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:22 pm
Posts: 9
I don't use any manager Thorsten. I was just browsing through directory "C:\ProgramData\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4", found "scenery_add-ons.xml" there and opened it out of curiosity (did not change it whatsoever).

As you can see in the attachment it has entries for all the sceneries that appear in my Scenery Library as .xml entries with the FSDG one missing. It also appears that it has entries in reverse order compared to the order in the Library (the pic in my previous post). Don't know if it is an installer issue or how this .xml is created or those <SceneryCRC> numbers are created, but it makes me suspicious that there might be an issue there. Don't know if that missing entry is the ultimate solution for my problem, but since you have created the sceneries and you say that it must be there, then we most surely have to fix that first. I presume that this FSDG file is common for all your airports that' s why I have issues with Thessaloniki and Kastellorizo as well.

PS Thanks for your support and your swift replies. You keep replying through all your weekend, when others don't bother! Another reason for supporting you furthermore!


Attachments:
scenery_add-ons.xml.jpg
scenery_add-ons.xml.jpg [ 97.65 KiB | Viewed 865 times ]
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:07 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
Sorry, my mistake. That is correct, but the missing FSDG folder is unexpected.
Please install the addon again and check if there is an "FSDG" folder in your P3Dv4 addons folder (additional to the FSDG-Heraklion folder).
It should contain an add-on.xml with this content:
<SimBase.Document Type="AddOnXml" version="4,0" id="add-on">
    <AddOn.Name>FSDG-Apt ALT files</AddOn.Name>
    <AddOn.Description>THIS FILE CONTROLS ALL CONTENT FOR FSDG-Airport altitude files: DO NOT EDIT OR REMOVE!</AddOn.Description>
    <AddOn.Component>
        <Category>Scenery</Category>
        <Path>scenery\world</Path>
        <Name>FSDG-Apt ALT Files</Name>
      <Layer>3</Layer>
    </AddOn.Component>
</SimBase.Document>



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:00 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:22 pm
Posts: 9
The folder is there with its contents as well as the .xml file. It is simply not shown in the add-ons .xml though I've tried several new installations.

Is there a way to manually put the relevant FSDG file entry in that .xml to see if that's the problem? I will edit the path, just don't know what that CRC entry is supposed to be.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:30 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
I don't think manually editing those files is a good idea. Here's what you can do: delete that file scenery_add-ons.xml (backup!) and let P3D create it again when it starts. Does it add all entries then?
When P3D detects a new add-on.xml it asks you if it should be added to the sim. Maybe you mistakingly clicked No back then.



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:31 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:22 pm
Posts: 9
YEAAAAH!!!

Uninstalled everything, deleted scenery_add-ons.xml, ran P3D once to build a "virgin" .xml, installed the scenery and the configurator, ran P3D again making sure to activate the scenery and the other entry and VOILA!!!

Already checked with Thessaloniki and Kastellorizo as well and everything is super good! It seems that if you click no when prompted to activate a scenery it somehow refuses to load it thereafter even if it generates a new .xml. Had to run once without anything installed and then it worked. Well, who knows, next time I'd better make sure not to click at no.

Thanks a lot for your help Thorsten!


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:34 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
Thank you too for testing this. I was not aware that P3D somehow saves that "no" somewhere.



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:15 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:00 pm
Posts: 35
no FSX from my side...


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:28 pm
Posts: 993
Maca, please install the addon again and check if the "FSDG" folder exists with the add-on.xml inside (code above).



_________________
- Thorsten -

Image
FSDG-online.com
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:23 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:00 pm
Posts: 35
ok, will do


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Heraklion - appron dark
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:53 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:00 pm
Posts: 35
Looks OK now....


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3 [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: